Disparaging Results

If you’ve been following the news in politics, no doubt you’ve heard about the Virginia gubernatorial race.  A strong conservative Attorney General Ken Cuccinelli faced off against Terry McAuliffe, former Democratic National Chairman who was aided in his campaign by the Obama administration and the Clintons. McAuliffe, who supports big government ideas like Obamacare, won by a very narrow margin, even though he out-spent Cuccinelli and was supported by many big-name politicians.

Gathering my thoughts together on the events of last night, I posted the following on Facebook this morning, explaining what God had showed me in the Scriptures:

Be strong and courageous. Do not fear or be in dread of them, for it is the Lord your God who goes with you. He will not leave you or forsake you. – Deuteronomy 31:6, ESV

While the outcome of the Virginia gubernatorial race is not to my liking and I was tempted to be overcome by worry and feelings of uncertainty for the future, Kenny reminded me (what I already knew) that our hope is not in man. The truth is that each day is uncertain for us all, even if every leader we ever voted for won the race. 

Why are you cast down, O my soul, and why are you in turmoil within me? Hope in God; for I shall again praise him, my salvation and my God. – Psalm 43:5, ESV

It is now important that we pray for our nation, our leaders – that they seek the Lord and not the power of man. 

First of all, then, I urge that supplications, prayers, intercessions, and thanksgivings be made for all people, for kings and all who are in high positions, that we may lead a peaceful and quiet life, godly and dignified in every way. – 1 Timothy 2:1-2, ESV

I pray, for our children’s sake, that it is not too late for America, but I fear we will see judgment as our nation has many sins against a great and holy Lord.

Later this morning I was reading today’s morning devotion in Charles Spurgeon’s Morning and Evening. It led me to examine portions of Isaiah 43 and 44.

26 Put me in remembrance; let us argue together; set forth your case, that you may be proved right. 27 Your first father sinned, and your mediators transgressed against me.  28 Therefore I will profane the princes of the sanctuary, and deliver Jacob to utter destruction and Israel to reviling. ~ Isaiah 43:26-28, ESV

According to John MacArthur’s ESV Study Bible, this refers to Israel’s sins against God and how they must suffer while they await Christ for complete His work on the Cross.

In the first 5 verses of chapter 44, Isaiah lays out the promise of the Lord’s blessings that will follow the suffering.

1 “But now hear, O Jacob my servant, Israel whom I have chosen! 2 Thus says the Lord who made you, who formed you from the womb and will help you: Fear not, O Jacob my servant, Jeshurun whom I have chosen. 3 For I will pour water on the thirsty land, and streams on the dry ground; I will pour my Spirit upon your offspring, and my blessing on your descendants. 4 They shall spring up among the grass like willows by flowing streams. 5 This one will say, ‘I am the Lord’s,’ another will call on the name of Jacob, and another will write on his hand, ‘The Lord’s,’ and name himself by the name of Israel.” ~ Isaiah 44:1-5, ESV

I am joyful at the thought that one day, Christ’s promise will be complete. No matter the suffering we must endure personally or as a nation, we are the Lord’s and He is our Hope.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

